THE SCREVEN COUNTY

COMMISSIONERS' MEETING

JANUARY 2, 2020

The Board of Commissioners of Screven County, Georgia, Mr. Will Boyd, Chairman, Mr. J.C. Warren, Vice-Chairman, Mr. John O. Triplett, Mr. Michael McBride, Mr. Mike Dixon, Ms. Rosa Romeo and Mr. Edwin Lovett met to hold a public hearing for the purpose of receiving public input from the public regarding the application filed by Atlantic Waste Services, Inc. for a conditional use permit to develop a municipal solid waste disposal and recycling facility located on Louis D. Newton Road, in Sylvania, Georgia. The Commissioners will hear and consider only comments regarding the consistency of the application for a conditional use permit with Screven County's Solid Waste Management Plan. The public hearing took place at 9:00 A.M. on January 2, 2020 at the Screven County Recreation Department.

PERSONS ATTENDING THE MEETING

Mr. Hubert Reeves, County Attorney, Mrs. Lori Boulineau, Administrative Clerk, Mr. Enoch Autry, Sylvania Telephone, Mr. Frank Jenkins, Attorney, Mr. Randy Hagan, Zoning Administrator, Ms. Michelle Jackson, Zoning Secretary, Ms. June Robbins, Ms. Beth Overstreet, Mr. Jim Sheppard, Ms. Rachel Taylor, Ms. Kimberly Baxter, Mr. Brett Bjorkman, Mr. Kenneth Foy, Mr. Don Stack, Ms. Geri Powell, Ms. Joyce Seyle, Mr. Danny Oakley, Ms. Kerri Oakley, Mr. Nick Thompson, Mr. Vaugh Michaud, Mr. Jeff Freas, Ms. Lisa Guidos, Mr. David Guidos, Ms. Helen Hagan, Mr. Michael Wrachfil, Mr. Michael Pritchard, Mr. Paul Anderson, Ms. Suzanne Anderson, Ms. Mandee Macomber, Ms. Lisa Gross, Mr. Roger Macomber, Mr. John Gross, Ms. Kim Brown, Mr. Allen Newton, Mr. Rick Newton, Ms. Linda Newton, Ms. Katelyn Weaver, Mr. Noble Boykin, Mr. Jay Derriso, Mr. Damon Mullis, Ms. Louise Ward, Mr. Mike Bohannon, Mr. Craig Lee, Ms. Stacy Mincey, Ms. Jeanette Lewis, Mr. Theodore Lewis, Mr. Patrick Mills, Ms. Sherron White, Ms. Gwendolyn White, Ms. Carolyn Johnson, Ms. Willene Williams, Ms. Martha Peavy, Mr. Kathy Boykin, Mr. Roy Boykin, Ms. Stormee Newton, Mr. Michael Newton, Mr. Harry Hodges, Ms.

Elaine Millsap, Mr. Douglas Bell, Mr. Tommy Bell, Mr. John Walker, Ms. Marti Walker, Ms. Rebecca King, Mr. Richard King, Ms. Ann Grovenstein, Ms. Mary Horton, Ms. Vicki Mobley, Ms. Sharon Stewart, Mr. Alan Stewart, Mr. Jimmy Murray, Ms. Mary Scott, Mr. William Scott, Mr. Robert Good Jr., Mr. Donald Macharavitz, Ms. Paula McCormick, Mr. John McCormick, Mr. A.W. Robinson II, Mr. Joshua McCormick, Ms. Karen Blackburn, Mr. Ron Blackburn, Ms. Janice Hopkins, Ms. Holly Perkins, Mr. Paul Newton, Mr. Cedric Rhodes, Mr. Paul Hammons, Mr. James Hammons, Ms. Marilyn Hammons, Ms. Daine Millsap, Mr. Harry Hodges, Mr. J.W. Black, Ms. Cathy Black, Mr. Willie Jaudon, Ms. Marion Jaudon, Ms. Margery Roger, Mr. Charles Reed, Ms. Harriet Yancey, Mr. Lawrence Yancey, Mr. Debo Boddiford, Mr. David Boddiford, Mr. Fred Newton III, Mr. Nicholas Gross, Mr. Jack White, Mr. Phyllis White, Ms. Sherron White, Mr. George Sconyers, Mr. Brian Bohannon, Ms. Donna Derriso, Ms. Terri Poythress, Ms. Nancy Baker, Ms. Evelyn Jaudon, Ms. Nancy Costeira, Ms. Vanessa Peasau, Ms. Ana Austin, Mr. Walter Sapp, Mr. Andrew Durrence, Mr. Wilson Boyd, Ms. Wendy Boyd, Mr. Ken Brown, Mr. Vernard White, Ms. Mary Denise, Ms. Rachel Hodges

CALL TO ORDER, INVOCATION AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Chairman Boyd called the meeting to order. Commissioner McBride gave the invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

PUBIC HEARING

Attorney Frank Jenkins addressed the Board and attendees stating the purpose of this public hearing is for the Board of Commissioners to hear and consider only comments regarding the consistency or inconsistency of the application from Atlantic Waste for a conditional use permit with Screven County's Solid Waste Management Plan. Chairman Boyd stated he will limit all comments to five (5) minutes. Chairman Boyd then opened the meeting to public comment for those who wish to speak about the consistencies of the application as it pertains to the Solid Waste Management Plan. Mr. Ben Wall spoke and named individuals that would speak in favor and to the consistency of the application with the Solid Waste Management Plan. He also talked about the land limitation

element, flood plains, wetlands and Carolina bays. Mr. Wall gave the Board a copy of a PowerPoint presentation. Mr. Steve Harbin with Harbin Engineering continued speaking about the consistency of the project with the SWMP, the impact of natural and cultural resources in the project area, all practices will be consistent with all state, federal and local laws, rules and ordinances, impacts to vehicle traffic, impacts to businesses, lower disposal costs to county and stated the area provides more than 10 years of capacity. Mr. Glenn Durrence stated that traffic due to the landfill will be under the amount that is permitted. Chairman Boyd then asked if anyone would like to speak as to why the application is not consistent with the Solid Waste Management Plan. Mr. Vaughn Michaud stated the public needs to recycle but all other comments did not pertain to the Solid Waste Management Plan. Mr. Noble Boykin stated the SWMP requires a consideration of quality of life issues, road will not sustain traffic and the requirement of more right of way for paving would require landowners permission, historic community and churches in area, unfairness to people, health issues to people, smell, inspection procedures and the reduction of land values. Mr. Boykin also submitted his information in paper to the Board. Mr. Don Stack, Ogeechee River Keepers, gave the Board printed information. Mr. Stack spoke about the inconsistent stories of the landfill size, land limitation elements, overall capacity, on-site wells, potential ground water contamination, airport issues and expansion, traffic will include heavy duty trucks not regular traffic and all analysis submitted by Atlantic Waste is an estimation. Mr. Alan Stewart spoke about zoning law purpose, the application was not submitted for a regional landfill, our current zoning does not have provisions for a recycling center, air quality, notification requirements to landowners, toxic sludge, leachate system, liner leakage and traffic problems on Hwy 17 and at the intersection of Cooperville. Ms. Kathy Boykin talked about land limitations, airport grant assurances, military airspace and the effect of existing uses. Ms. Boykin gave the Board a copy of her information. Mr. Alan Newton talked

about letters mailed to land owners adjoining the property, public hearing notifications, application changes, zoning permits, effect to animals and environment around facility and liter from trucks on roadways. Ms. Sharon Stewart addressed the insect and rodent problem at landfills and insecticides used will affect honeybee producers in the area. Mr. Donald Mackaravitz asked about the weight limit on county roads and how the truck traffic will hurt the county roads. Mr. David Guidos commented on the voting process during this application. Mr. Russell Water, Airport Authority, asked for contact to be maintained during this application process with the Airport Authority. Mr. Tommy Bell stated a creek on the proposed property will be contaminated from ponds at the site. Mr. John Johnson spoke about the traffic problems and safety issues due to increased traffic, water and air contamination affecting gardens. Ms. Katurah Wylemski discussed traffic and safety issues pertaining to the narrow roads and school buses and bus stops. Mr. David Lewis stated he is the son of the land owner that is closest to the proposed landfill. His father is concerned about the smell. Ms. Judith Knight asked if inconsistencies that arise will the public know about them and what they can do to make sure the law is followed. Chairman Boyd closed the public comment portion of the meeting. Chairman Boyd adjourned the meeting at 10:13 A.M.

Chairman	
County Manager	